“Carols”

A few years ago, I wrote a short Christmas story in which (nutshell version) fifteen-year-old Al Fischer spends the holiday enthusiastically telling his family everything he loves about the Christmas season.

By purist coincidence (or not…), Al and his author have similar ideas about Christmas. And he’ll be pleased to know that I’ve decided to commemorate our mutual obsession here on Ever On Word by dedicating a series of blog posts to The Top 10 Reasons Christmas Rocks My World.

* * *

#4: Carols

            “Music comes in at number 4,” Al announced in his story. (But of course, I’ve already got a blog post entitled “Music”, so I went for more specificity, here – not merely music, but “songs of praise or joy, especially for Christmas”.) “And in fact,” he went on to say, “I should make a separate list for the top 10 Christmas songs that rock my world.”

            I’m all for that! Christmas wouldn’t feel the least bit like Christmas to me without several weeks of Christmas carols everywhere I turn. One of my favorite traditions of the season is playing an ongoing game of roulette with the radio, hoping I’ll tune in just time for some song or another that never fails to make me smile. (There’s even some measure of fun in groaning over the umpteenth time in a single day they’ve played some song I halfway hate.) I can and do enjoy Christmas music any time of the year, but it’s extra special to hear it in December.

            So, Al, here’s another one for you – and for any readers out there who are game for a Deshipley-endorsed playlist. Counting down from ten to one, here are The Top 10 Christmas Songs That Rock My World.

#10 – “Grandma Got Run Over by a Reindeer”. Most Christmas nonsense-songs annoy me. This one, I wish I wrote.

#9 – “It’s Beginning to Look a Lot Like Christmas”, because I love it when it’s so!

#8 – “Do You Hear What I Hear?”. A long beloved carol plus a Mannheim Steamroller instrumental will tend to equal a happy Danielle.

#7 – “The Kid in Me”. My not-too-deep-down inner child used to sing this along with Donny Osmond multiple times a day.

#6 – “Carol of the Bells”, but not just any old version! Trans-Siberian Orchestra or nothing! …Well, okay, or the one by David Foster. But since I’m only linking one cover per song…

#5 – White is in the Winter Night”, which I owe Allyn for introducing to me this year. Who knows how much longer I would’ve gone without having ever heard this Enya carol, had I not been scouring YouTube on behalf of “Allyn-a-Dale’s 25 Days of Christmas” (hint-hint, plug-plug, more on that at post’s end).

#4 – “We Need a Little Christmas”. Something about this song makes me want to put on a petticoat and dance around a candlelit tree.

#3 – “Angels We Have Heard On High”. I’ll love just about any version of this song, I think, but again, I’m only linking one, so it’s back to Donny O.

#2 – “Twelve Days of Christmas”. Not the Muppets, this time, those of you who are having three-posts-ago flashbacks. This cover rocks harder, courtesy of Relient K.

And coming in at #1, we’ve got… “‘Wonderful Christmas Time’!” Al cheers, jumping around for carol-induced joy.

            A character/author mutual fave, eh? How purely coincidental (or not…).

            What say you, readers? Which favorite carols would grace your lists?

            (P.S. – if you’re in the mood for more Christmas tunes, do drop by the “Ballad of Allyn-a-Dale” Facebook page, where Allyn and I have been featuring minstrel-approved carols all December long!)

2 thoughts on ““Carols”

  1. I’ll most likely be back tomorrow to list some more, but off of my head, Relient K’s 12 Days of Christmas and their I Celebrate the Day, along with the traditional version of the classic Sleigh Ride are definately up there. Ive been obsessing over Relient K’s entire Let It Snow Baby…Let It Reindeer album all day with a great over-obsession with I Celebrate the Day, all day long. I love Christmas.

Leave a Reply

