“HYSRT!” or “What’s In a Naming?”

“I read in a book once that a rose by any other name would smell as sweet, but I've never been able to believe it. I don't believe a rose WOULD be as nice if it was called a thistle or a skunk cabbage.”
--Anne of Green Gables (L.M. Montgomery)

I wrote early on in Ever On Word’s history about my feelings regarding names. In one-and-a-half words, love ‘em. Coming up with the perfect names for characters is one of the parts I most enjoy about fiction writing, so I was tickled to come across today’s “HYSRT!”  post on Whitney Carter’s blog, Invisible Ink. Titled “How to Name Your Characters”, it serves up suggestions and food for thought for those of us with books full of babies to name – tips actually applicable for those of us with anything to name, from real children, to pets, to tape dispensers. (Come on, don’t tell me I’m the only one who named my tape dispenser. And if I’m not, please tell me that the rest of you named yours something a little more original than Tape.)

            So here’s the post, which I hope you’ll enjoy; I’d also recommend checking out the continuation of the topic in the comments that follow it, because hey, you should read that, too.

2 thoughts on ““HYSRT!” or “What’s In a Naming?”

Leave a Reply

