“Bold” or “The Things I’ll Do to Share in the World of Robin Hood”

As I’ve done a darn poor job of making a secret of, around here, this summer was my first ever stint on the cast of the Bristol Renaissance Faire. As of Labor Day, the Faire’s 2012 season is over, but my time in a little pocket of Elizabethan England will long live on in my heart (…and in this blog, where my serial Bristol-themed whodunit has only just begun).

This whole Ren Faire thing has been huge for me, for a heck-ton of reasons – including, but not limited to: Frequent Robin Hood sightings; laughs had, friends made, laughs had, stuff learned, and even more laughs had; and the folks at the Dirty Duck Inn make several mean bowls of soup. But perhaps the biggest reason of all? Joining Bristol forced me to be “fearless and daring; courageous”, or at least to act as if I were. I mean, just look at all the things I had to do!

Get the Thumbs-Up from Caesar in the Gladiator Ring. Remember that long-ago audition I wrote about? That was terrifying. Well, writing about it wasn’t actually all that scary, but the audition itself? Eeek! You may not know it, to see me perform, but I get stage fright something major. My insides on audition day were a jittery mess. But I dragged myself before the panel sitting in judgment and hammed it up anyway, because I wanted in, dang it! And I obviously made somebody in charge want me in, too. (:

Stick Torture Devices in My Eyes. In progressively more dire need of glasses since the age of ten, I’ve always worn my specs with pride. (Even sported a snazzy glasses chain, for a while there. And when I say “snazzy”, I mean it sure seemed snazzy at the time.) Stylish as my frames are, though, they don’t exactly scream “16th century”. And so, once I knew I’d been cast, I got my first prescription contact lenses. For the first few days, getting the lenses on and off my eyeballs took about an hour roundtrip. It was a real morale-killer, but I stuck with it, and look at me today: Contacts in and out in under a minute! (Unless I’m dog-tired, in which case even spelling “contact” might take me a couple tries.)

Talk to Strangers. I don’t even have to exaggerate this heading; it’s a bone-chiller as it stands! They had me talking to fellow cast members. They had me talking to directors. And the lion’s share of that talk was in preparation to talk to the thousands of patrons who visit the Faire every weekend! It was never-ending, and it was about half-a-light-year out of my comfort zone. But by some miracle, it didn’t kill me.

That’s really the bottom line of my Faire experience: None of it killed me. Instead, it made me stronger.

Looks like Kelly Clarkson had it right all along!

Now when I’m lost on the way to grab pizza with the friends I didn’t used to have, I can pop into a sandwich shop and ask the nice strangers behind the counter for directions. (Done it!) Now if I ever have to walk 15 miles in a humid hundred degrees while wearing two full skirts and a bodice, I’ll know that I can, and smile and shout in a lower-class English accent while I do it. (Done it multiple times!) Now I’ve got my eyes open for more acting opportunities – (yes, my poor, much-abused eyes which, though perhaps no stronger in their own right, can see ultra-clearly through the strength of their new lenses!) – so I can continue to go through horrific auditions in the hope of theatrical fun on the other side.

I’m also going to learn swordplay, so maybe one day I’ll be hired to fight alongside Robin as a Merry Man. #DreamBold

9 thoughts on ““Bold” or “The Things I’ll Do to Share in the World of Robin Hood”

    • All the most fantastically awesome people have wished it at one time or another. …except for those who haven’t, but have some other claim to fantastic awesomeness, so it’s all good.

      A pitch contest, you say? *dashes off to read the specifics, and returns at the speed of a lightning-fast pineapple* I’m all over that! Thou shalt be hearing from me!

  1. I get nervous every time I did stand up, or presented on the radio, so I feel your pain! Well done on having the courage to do it. Even though we are nemsisesisisiseses (nemises? nemisi? best nems forever?), I’m glad it worked out for you and that it’s made things happen for you 🙂

Leave a Reply

