“Human” or “Equal, Right?”

You hear about it all the time, anymore, this clamor for equal rights. You hear insistence that anyone and everyone have the right to marry whomever they wish, regardless of gender. You likewise hear demands that gender have no influence on things like the amount in your paycheck. All this and more, passionately argued by countless people.

Well, good for them, having passion. Passion is commendable. And it is a passion of my own that urged I write this piece, in a forum more conducive to it than comments on some Facebook friend’s status. I get passionately angry, and passionately sad, when I hear people make all this noise about equal rights for all… but they don’t really mean “all”. They mean all sexual identities, they mean all women, they mean all ethnicities, but there is a portion of humanity that they blatantly exclude: The yet unborn.

Unborn babies don’t count, they say; it’s not murder to terminate them, because they’re not human.

All right, then. What is a human? “A member of the genus Homo and especially of the species H. sapiens”? When do we consider that status achieved?

Says Wikipedia, “Humans are characterized by having a large brain relative to body size, with a particularly well developed neocortex, prefrontal cortex and temporal lobes, making them capable of abstract reasoning, language, introspection, problem solving and culture through social learning.” It further makes mention of “mental capability, combined with an adaptation to bipedal locomotion that frees the hands for manipulating objects”. Another site follows that pattern of thinking, citing the capabilities of our brains and bodies as a large part of what it means to be human.

Well, that’s reasoning that’ll get you slapped by anyone with a loved one with a disability. “So what, because my brother lost his arms fighting in the Middle East, he’s been downgraded to subhuman?!” “My sister has a mental handicap – you’re saying she’s not human?!

Sounds like that’s somebody’s argument. After all, from what I’ve heard, doctors are more likely to encourage an abortion if tests reveal the unborn baby is minus a limb (my mother had a friend who bore a girl with only one leg, and so got such a story firsthand) or shows signs of another serious disability. These babies are not whole. Are they, then, not wholly human? Or are they simply deemed too much of a burden?

Have any of you seen this video, yet? Click the pic to give it a watch.

You know what’s a burden? Babies with all ten fingers and toes. Toddlers who are perfectly developmentally on track. Young children, older children, and hormonal teenagers. All of these are a huge strain on a parent’s time, finances, and psycho-emotional state. And yet their parents love them, and if asked in all seriousness whether they considered their children to be human, they’d answer that of course they are. Are they adult humans? No. But they are human nonetheless.

So again I ask: When did that humanity start? At some arbitrary week in the second or third trimester of pregnancy, but only if muscles and organs are such-and-so far along? When baby emerges to take her first breath, but only if she can survive without undue assistance? When brain and mouth can work together to take part in our complex oral communication, which some can never do? We’ve set the bar so low for all kinds of achievement; why all these hoops to jump just to be considered a part of the species?

What is a human? A person. Someone who will, if allowed to grow, someday “have or show those positive aspects of nature and character regarded as distinguishing humans from other animals”, as well as demonstrate traits “subject to or indicative of the weaknesses, imperfections, and a fragility associated with humans”. Someone who feels pain (and unborn babies do, quite early on). Someone who feels joy (have you noticed how some of the biggest smiles are on disability-warped faces?). Anyone who was created of a human sperm and a human egg and a superhuman miracle. (Even if your beliefs stretch no further than science, surely you can see the wonder in a new life’s genesis!)

I have a problem with a society that thinks a woman’s right to choose what she does with her own person extends to what she does with a separate person growing inside of her. I take issue with a world lobbying to allow us all any right we wish to claim, while simultaneously denying innocents the bare minimum right to exist.

Yes, rape is horrible. So is senseless death. Don’t take it out on the baby.

Yeah, but what if it endangers the mother? Then she should be a mother and put her baby’s life ahead of her own. (Come on, humanity, there are even animal mothers who do this!)

Okay, but you’re not ready for this baby. Somebody is! Hie thee to a public library and use the free internet to Google search options for adoption! There are would-be parents out there crying to love the precious lives that we are all too quick to throw away.

I’m sure there are other excuses. There always are. We’re good at that – excusing ourselves from doing anything we’d rather not, excusing any and all behavior because, you see, it makes us happy. And there’s nothing more important than our happiness. And when we say “our”, we really mean “my”.

We don’t want equal rights. We want what we want, and we’re mad when someone tells us we can’t have it, no matter what reason we’re given. Because we’re humans. Adult humans, which are just selfish children grown older, which are no more than unborn babies who were granted permission to live.

Your mothers didn’t abort you, equal rights fanatics. Please stop making a part of me passionately regret it.

* * *

Related links:

“We Know They Are Killing Children — All of Us Know”

“Practical Apologetics: Annihilating Abortion Arguments”

“5 Videos that Show Who Abortion is Killing — a Real Human Being”

http://thelostgenerations.wordpress.com/

6 thoughts on ““Human” or “Equal, Right?”

  1. Hm. Thanks for writing and sharing this. I totally agree with everything you said, and I would never abort a baby no matter the circumstances. But I do think that that’s my decision to make. I certainly hope every woman makes the same choice, but I don’t necessarily know that it’s the government’s place to pick between my life or my baby’s. I don’t mind the government outlawing abortion—until the mother’s life is legitimately endangered. Then I think it’s a choice only she and her husband (hopefully she has one) can make together. If I choose death, that’s one thing. Being condemned to death by an impersonal government is another thing entirely.

    • My appeal is less to the government and far more to individuals. The law can ban (or allow) anything it likes, but it is the individual who determines whether or not to act within the law, or in spite of it, or to take unhealthy advantage of all the freedoms they’ve been permitted. (“All things are lawful unto me, but all things are not expedient: all things are lawful for me, but I will not be brought under the power of any.” — 1 Corinthians 6:12)

  2. I agree with what you said too, but politics make me too angry so I take after Jesus, who did very well at staying away from the political agenda of his day:-) I’d rather love on my neighbor than shouting my beliefs at them b/c I’ve found the latter turns people away from God, which in turn declines our morale. The world doesn’t need great government to change, it needs Jesus! I’m not hopeful they’ll discover that answer, but I try my best to make an impact on the ones God has placed in my path.

    • As I answered Ariel, you’re right, this is not a governmental matter, but a matter of individuals and the choices they make. I am 100% “Pro-Choose Life”, and I do pray that we who have already chosen life eternal will be able to influence more positive change on the world around us, with this issue and others.

Leave a Reply

