“NaNotes” or “So It Begins”

For National Novel Writing Month 2012, I’m chronicling my novel-writing journey! Need more NaNo in your life? Follow along. (:

* * *

DAY ONE

2am: Three-way phone call of a kickoff party = a great way to ring NaNo in right. Waiting until my west coast buddy’s time zone hit midnight = all very fun and stupid. My productivity window had pretty much closed an hour ago. An hour and a half = 600-some words of frustration before calling it a night.

10am – 1pm: After a good night’s sleep (ha-ha-ha-ha…), I reevaluated my progress, scrapped what I had and employed a voice switch. 2,298 much better words. What’s to thank? The change of narrative tone? A writing shift more in time with my internal clock? Relocation to my bedroom? (I’d been in another part of the house before.) Could be any, all, or none of the above, most probably a combination thereof. (Yay, rhyming! And I’m not even working on a minstrel book, this year.) Breaking for breakfast before a hunger headache derails me.

2-ishpm – 6pm: 4,226 words, and explicable exhaustion is rolling in. Since I’m going for two novels, this month, 4K seems like a safe daily word-count minimum. Yay! I’ve past that! And I’m having fun with the voice I’ve chosen. (Thank you, 1 main character of 3!) Unless I catch a second wind, this will probably be it for today. I’ll take it, and go to bed substantially earlier than I did last night (barring character drama; it happens).

DAY TWO

10:30am – 1:30pm: 2,207 words so far today. 2 of the 3 main characters have just met up; we’ll be introduced to the third when I come back in to start the next chapter. Both physically and mentally speaking, now’s a good time for me to take a break; body to care for, blog to post

3pm – 7pm (though it’s taken me ‘til almost 10pm to record this): I’m now up to 8,625 words all told, and tentatively feeling like a beast. I wrote a line towards the end of today’s work that made me honest-to-good laugh out loud. I posted it on my Ballad” Facebook page as the “line of the day”, a fun NaNo tradition I began while writing “Ballad” for my first-ever Writing Month. Some days there are a ton of lines I love to choose from; some days, none of them jump out at me; today, it was a no-brainer. …which is good, because I’d like to have my brain handy for tomorrow. Don’t want to lose momentum!

DAY THREE

10:30am – 1:30pm: Hmm, only 1,975 words so far today. Gonna have to step it up for my second shift. I know I’ve got days coming where I’ll have stuff to do beyond writing and getting just enough food and sleep to continue writing, so I wanna make sure I’ve got a nice, safe word cushion before then. I left things on the brink of an important action scene, so let’s see how much fun, drama, and verbiage I can wring out of that.

2:30pm6:30: New total of 13,018 words! That’s what I’m talking about! Assuming this book truly does end in the neighborhood of 50K, I’m a little over a quarter of the way through, now. Writer buddy Tirzah pleased me, upon my sharing this day’s additions to the story with her, by saying that she’s enjoying “So Super Dead” more than she expected she would. Something about how she hadn’t thought it would be the sort of plot she was interested in, but I’m managing to thoroughly entertain her. To which I say, “Boo-yah.” (:

DAY FOUR

8:00am – 1:00pm: 2,773 new words. Why I was wide [enough] awake and ready to go at such an hour, I don’t even know. Then again, we did set the clocks back at hour for the end of daylight-savings, last night, so I guess my brain thought it was 9am. …That still doesn’t explain my being awake. Guess I just wanted to get up and write!

2:00pm – 4:30pm: 4,509 words today (minus a sentence from yesterday, but whatever, it’s still the best writing day I’ve had yet), 17,563 all told! I expect that I’ll add more sometime this evening/tonight, somewhere in between finally practicing drills for sword-fighting class (*cough* which I’ve neglected all week *cough*) and watching the new episode of “Once Upon A Time”. It would feel quite satisfying to break 5K* in a day!

(*11:00pm: 5,603 / 18,656 at the last! And Tirzah says she likes my characters! Whoo-HOO!)

DAY FIVE

9:45am – 1:30pm: 2,504. This morning’s was a challenging section to write, because it was pretty much all conversation. I don’t have trouble with dialogue in and of itself; my characters always have something to say. It’s just a matter of making sure that their important conversations stay on track. Entertaining banter and dramatic arguments are great, but if they don’t move the story where it needs to go, what’s the use? I think the words spoken between these characters accomplished what they need to. I’ll know better once I run them past the beta.

2:30pm – 7:30pm: And our pre-edit total for the day is 5,565 / 24,285. What’s that? Editing during NaNo? Say it ain’t so! Be chill, it’s nothing major. Basically I just read back over what I’ve done for the day and put in missing words for the sake of complete sentences, or take out words that no longer belong there after I changed my mind halfway through a phrase. Occasionally I’ll think of whole new words/sentences/phrases that didn’t occur to me to add during my first rush through. So no, I’m not doing a perfect job of keeping my Inner Editor locked in the cellar; but – in part since she’s been mostly helping me to increase my word-count, this NaNo – I’ve no regrets.

* * *

And now to get back to my writing for Day Six…

Fellow Wrimos: How’s your NaNo going?

4 thoughts on ““NaNotes” or “So It Begins”

    • Thanks, shall do!
      And hey, there’s always next November, for you. Or Camp NaNo, during June and/or August. Or you could go really crazy and throw your own NaNo during December, or January, or April… Any month can be a writing-like-a-maniac month! (:

Leave a Reply

