“Announcement, Part 2” or “A Fairytale Beginning”

Previously on Ever On Word, Danielle shared the totally super crazy exciting news about her short story’s inclusion in J. Taylor Publishing’s upcoming YA anthology, “One  More Day”. She also indicated that she’s got even more totally super crazy exciting news to share today. And not only was she not lying, she’s too giddy to keep up this third-person introductory paragraph much longer, so she’s/I’m just gonna come out and say it:

I’m self-publishing a book.

I know what you’re thinking:

Yeah, right. April Fools!

…Oh, is that what you’re thinking? Well, think again, folks. I don’t joke about stuff like this.

Wha-wha-WHAT?! But what about the anthology with J. Taylor Publishing??

Yes. That, too. I’m doing BOTH. I am having cake, eating it, and shall be both traditionally and independently published.

Why?

Short answer: ‘Cause I wanna.

Longer answer: To be discussed further in another post.

Now, as for that other thing you were thinking:

Oh, boy! Holy cow! What book?! What’s it called?! What’s it about?! Aw, man, I can’t breathe!

Please breathe.

The book is entitled “The Swan Prince”, and shall be the first of a series of novellas near and dear to my heart, “The Wilderhark Tales”.

Some concept art I did for the book a few years ago. No, this is not the official cover. My ambitions are higher than that.

Some concept art I did for the book a few years ago. No, this is not the official cover. My ambitions are higher than that.

The description below gives a general sense of what the series is all about.

<> ~ <> ~ <>

An enchantress’s curse turns a spoiled royal into a beast;

A princess’s pricked finger places her under a hundred-year spell;

Bales of straw are spun as golden as the singing harp whisked down a giant beanstalk –

All within sight of Wilderhark, the forest that’s seen it all.

You’ve heard the stories –

of young men scaling rope-like braids to assist the tower-bound damsel;

of gorgeous gowns appearing just in time for a midnight ball;

of frog princes, and swan princes,

and princes saved from drowning by maidens of the sea.

Tales of magic. Tales of adventure. Most of all, tales of true love.

Once upon a time, you knew them as fairytales. Know them now as Wilderhark’s.

<> ~ <> ~ <>

Book One of The Wilderhark Tales comes soon, good readers! And as the calendar creeps toward the launch date (I’m thinking end of May, early June; standby for specifics), I’ll be sharing behind-the-scenes info on what all has gone into turning the documents on my laptop into a book that I can hardly wait to give to the world!

…Well, sell to the world, mostly, though never fear, there shall be giveaways, too!

So if you’re looking to learn more about publishing independently, to be part of a fairytale phenomenon, or just sorta-kinda love me, this is the blog to keep your eye on!

Oh, and speaking of being part of the phenomenon, the all-call for those who wish to review the book and/or arrange an author interview with me for their blog starts now! I’d like to be able to include some review excerpts within my published book, so if you’d like a chance to have your name appear in my novella, drop me a line in the comment section or via my e-mail, Danielle.E.Shipley[“at” symbol]comcast.net, and we’ll see about getting you a pre-release copy!

DISCLAIMER: Providing a review is not a guarantee that any portion of it will appear in the final retail product. There are space limitations, you know. This does not mean that I am not deeply grateful for every review received – ‘cause I will be! – and I will be glad to share/link to your reviews here on the blog, even if I’m unable to squeeze them into the book’s pages. Also, no payment shall be offered for the provision of reviews. This is a monetary-bribe-free zone.

Coming up next time on Ever On Word: The reason I determined to assert some literary independence!

14 thoughts on ““Announcement, Part 2” or “A Fairytale Beginning”

  1. Congratulations! A brave choice, self publishing, but there’s some wonderful successes out there who have done it. May you knock the literary world’s socks off, lol. I look forward to your take on the fairy tales. Sounds like such fun.

    • It has indeed taken some guts, but the very scariest part — making the decision to just do it — is behind me now. The literary world’s socks had better brace themselves!

  2. OH MY GOSH!! YAY!!! This is exciting news. Congratulations! And of course my blog is open for an interview or whatever you wanna do! Also, did I mention I did reviews?! *wink wink* 🙂

  3. Prolific and GUTSY are a couple of my words for you Danielle. Congratulations! You literally take my breath away.
    Love, Aunt Carolyn

  4. You GO girl!! 😀 Wow, I am so impressed by and admire your guts, Danielle. Self-publishing is a huge step, and I think it’s incredibly awesome that you decided to take it! I don’t know why, but I have the sudden urge to sing the chorus of “I’ll Make A Man Out of You” from Mulan to you. You know, ’cause you’re getting down to business… and all that…

    Clearly, I’m a mess. But I’m super excited about this blog post, so cut me some slack? Also, if you’d like (and if you’re willing to wait until May or so when I’m no longer traveling through Europe), I’d love to interview you on my blog! 🙂

    • *refrains, with great effort, from turning this into a Disney sing-along*
      Like I’m gonna chastise you for sharing my excitement? Not hardly! And HECK to the YEAH, you can interview me in May or so! I am allllllll for that! Rock on, Sam — and give Europe my regards!

Leave a Reply

