“Genuine” or “Random Reactions Re: a Book I Read”

I’m not sure if it’s rare or straight-up unheard of for me to borrow a library book I know zero about. Yet, for whatever reasons or lack of reasons, that’s precisely what I did with Maggie Stiefvater’s  The Scorpio Races. What, just because I read her “Books of Faerie” and liked them well enough, that means I’ll just grab anything of hers off the shelf, never mind even reading the blurb or anything? Since when is that how I roll?

The cover of the copy I read.

The cover of the copy I read.

Whatever. I regret nothing. On the contrary – I feel compelled to make a list (i.e. Lazy Danielle’s version of a[n] “actually having the reputed or apparent qualities or character” book review).

Stuff I Liked About “The Scorpio Races

– The way everyone on the island of Thisby had of addressing each other. Not just first names, not just last names, but first and last names both – Sean Kendrick, Puck Connolly (or Kate Connolly) – almost every time they said the name aloud. That struck me as kinda neat; like they’re acknowledging the genuine whole of a person instead of just a part.

– Speaking of Sean Kendrick, he’s… well, it almost feels like a hideous disservice to say he’s hot, because that’s not what he’s about. He’s deeper than that – deep and wild as the sea from which the monstrous water horses rise, yet calm in the center of it all. Whether he’s hot or not in the eye candy sense has nothing to do with his genuine self. He’s just a magnetic mystery of a man.

A way cooler cover, much more representative of the story inside.

A way cooler cover, much more representative of the story inside.

– Speaking of monstrous water horses, boy, were they ever awesome in a horrifying way. Gotta love mythical beasties. …from afar. Preferably very far.

– Characterization. Stiefvater had a real way of describing people.

As opposed to a fake way, Danielle?

Hush up. Know what I’m talking about or read the book. She had clever/amusing turns of phrase peppered throughout the narrative as well, particularly during Puck Connolly’s turns as narrator. (Not saying Sean Kendrick didn’t have his witty moments, only that wit wasn’t really his job.)

– A side-ish character that I totally felt hoodwinked into liking because I could tell that I was meant to like him, and doggone it, I did! I spent much of the back half of the book fretting that this person would die. Authors are cruel.

– The tension. On the one hand, I don’t like being tense, but on the other, it sure makes a book fly by more swiftly when you’re jittering to know how in the world everything will resolve. So props for keeping the suspense as high as the story’s stakes, Maggie Stiefvater.

– From what I’ve read her say about it, this is as especially dear a story to Maggie Stiefvater as my “Ballad of Allyn-a-Dale” trilogy is to me, so my heart is happy for her in the “sincerely and honestly felt or experienced” sense of genuine.

– The ending. No, I’m not going to tell you anything about it, what do you take me for? Just be informed that I deemed it satisfying (and genuine, in that it did not feel stupidly contrived), and leave it at that.

So, yeah. Really good book. Guess I’ll add that to the unwritten list of books I seriously need to buy, one of these days (looking at you, “The Night Circus” by Erin Morgenstern and… shoot, I always on-and-off remember the other one. It’ll come to me again later*. And maybe then I’ll actually bother to write it down).

Anyone else read it? Liked/disliked it? Heard about it, somewhere? Happen to psychically intuit that book I’m forgetting?

*“Bruiser” by Neal Shusterman, perhaps? It’s either that, or I keep forgetting two…

**(Weeks later, I kid you not) AHA! It’s “Code Name Verity” by Elizabeth Wein! Thanks to this Top 10 Tuesday post over at Between The Lines for jogging my memory…even if Krystal only mentioned it to explain why it wasn’t her cup of tea. X)

*** On a completely different note, there’s still a bit of time left to enter my 200th follower giveaway! Comment here with a fond memory of your time spent here at Ever On Word for a chance to win the prize!

12 thoughts on ““Genuine” or “Random Reactions Re: a Book I Read”

  1. Pingback: “Genuine” or “Random Reactions Re: a Book I Read” | Eclectic Books

  2. Great Review!! I loved what you wrote about Sean “He’s deeper than that – deep and wild as the sea from which the monstrous water horses rise, yet calm in the center of it all. Whether he’s hot or not in the eye candy sense has nothing to do with his genuine self. He’s just a magnetic mystery of a man.”

  3. I haven’t read this one, but did listen to The Raven Boys and thought it was really interesting…I don’t think I’ve heard anything negative about this book, though!

Leave a Reply

