“Tailor” or “Meet Edgwyn Wyle!”

Love and prince,

Both true, wed rose of white in realm of stone;

For blood begins,

But naught can be put right by blood alone.”

One thoughtless act is all it takes to bring the curse threatened

on Rosalba’s christening day to pass. Now the princess must combine

her desperate determination with the service of benevolent tailor Edgwyn Wyle

to find the second half of the key to her kingdom’s restoration.

<> ~ <> ~ <>

If you’ve been following this blog for a while, chances are you’ve heard me make mention of Edgwyn before. But now that the release of his introductory book,The Stone Kingdom (Book Two of The Wilderhark Tales), is close at hand, I finally get to show him off properly with an interview! So, a warm welcome, please, for my tailor* and dear fictional friend, Edgwyn Wyle!

*(No, he doesn’t actually do my clothes, much to his regret. Our planes of reality don’t mesh up well enough for that.)

Edgwyn, color final

Edgwyn Wyle as drawn by Yana Naumova.

What is your role in the story?

“Oh, I’m the fellow who shows up by accident just in time to be a bit of help to a lovely enchanted princess,” he says happily. “I couldn’t have asked for better!”

What is your main motivation?

“Well, that goes hand in glove with my role: To help Rosalba save her kingdom by finding her princely true love. I mean, before that, I was just trying to get my career off the ground, but a friend in need comes first, even if the friend happens to be a stranger.”

Avoiding spoilers, which part of the story did you enjoy the most, and why?

“Hmm… Meeting Rosalba was fun. Riding all over the countryside with Rosalba was fun. Any scene that involved working with beautiful cloth was fun. And at one point, there were blackberry tarts… but no, the cloth was better than that. I pick meeting Rosalba,” he decides. “It was magical.”

Still avoiding spoilers, which part of the story was the hardest to live, and why?

“The part where I was horrendously sleep-deprived, flat broke, heartsick about Things That I Cannot Discuss, and to top it all off, my charming horse trod upon my foot. We’ll label it the ‘darkest hour before the dawn’ scene.”

What’s the one thing in the story you wish you’d done better?

His brow furrows in concern. “Oh, dear, I don’t know. I tried my best. But I suppose my temper came a bit close to getting the better of me, a couple times. And, oh, I oughtn’t to have upset Rosalba with that whole ‘awakening kiss’ debacle. That’s a snarl I’d take back, if I could.”

Which of your actions in the book are you most proud of?

His eyes light up. “Rosalba’s ball gown! I mean, I’m glad of everything else I was able to do for her, too, but to think that I created such a masterpiece in such outrageous working conditions… It’s nothing short of a professional triumph!”

Who would you say had it the roughest in the book, and who had it easiest?

“Roughest? Poor Rosalba, of course! Her entire kingdom in dire straits, the prince she sought so elusive, and no one in the whole world to turn to but me – Highest Good, how could you but pity her? As for easiest… I really don’t know. Somebody who wasn’t much involved with Denebdeor’s national crisis, I suppose. Seemed to be a merry lot of revelers on the sidelines, for a number of scenes.”

How would your co-star, Rosalba, describe you?

Blushing laughter on Edgwyn’s part. “Some bit of rubbish about how thoughtful and selfless I am.”

“And too modest to take a compliment like a man,” Rosalba tosses in.

“And that,” Edgwyn agrees.

If you weren’t a tailor, what would you want to be?

“Distant second career choice, hmm? Probably something to do with horses. Maybe rehabilitate poor creatures that had been abused, neglected, or injured, then pass them along to anyone who will love and care for them properly. Ooh, I would also love to use them in riding therapy for people with special needs and disabilities! Yes, that would be a very nice way to spend my time, if I weren’t making clothes to enhance people’s beauty and confidence.”

Your best quote from the book?

He laughs. “Oh, goodness, that’s a lot of chatter to wade through! Still, if I had to settle on the bit I liked best, it would likely be: ‘Oh, by all means, compliment away, if you like. It’s nice to hear pleasant things about me in a voice other than my own. Don’t forget to include something about what wonderfully symmetrical ears I have.’” He gives a twinkle-eyed smile. “It’s about the closest I come to accepting flattering remarks with any sort of manly grace.”

What would you say is the moral of “The Stone Kingdom”?

“‘Do the best you possibly can, and everything will work out the best it possibly can’?” He shrugs. “I feel that was my takeaway from the tale.”

Miranda McNeff asks via the Danielle E. Shipley Facebook page: If you were to have access to modern technology, what would be your favorite device (and none of this “what do you mean by modern technology?” junk. I want serious answers!)?

“I want a sewing machine!” he says, all excitement. “I enjoy sewing by hand, but I could get so much more done faster with a modern machine. And you’ve got fancy gizmos to print designs on fabric, don’t you? One of those, too!”

Kimberly Kay asks, also through the FB page: Be honest. If you could tackle any other character in the story, who would it be and why?

“Tackle?” he says, startled. “You mean, knock over? Goodness, I wouldn’t feel comfortable doing that to anyone. I’d feel like a bully, picking on all the less-than-huge people. Unless… Do you think it would hurt her to tackle my horse? I mean, if she doesn’t know how to fall without injuring herself, then never mind it; but if there’s a nice mound of hay for her to land on… That would actually be rather funny,” he sniggers, “giving a horse a flying tackle hug. I doubt she’d appreciate it. Such violently demonstrative love isn’t for everyone.”

Kay also asks: What Harry Potter Hogwarts House would you be sorted into?

He smiles with certainty. “Hufflepuff. According to Danielle’s friend who has actually read the books, I am a thorough Hufflepuff.”

Thank you, Edgwyn! Happy sewing, helping, and being a goofball (i.e., the things you do best)!

If any bloggers reading this want a turn at putting my tailor on the hot seat, you have only to ask. Perhaps you couldn’t tell, but he’d be overjoyed to oblige you.

6 thoughts on ““Tailor” or “Meet Edgwyn Wyle!”

    • It is a darn rare thing, to be sure. Become an obsessed stalker like I am, and you may catch a glimpse once every blue moon or so.
      “There was a blue moon in your sky the other night,” Edgwyn notes. He looks at me with widening eyes. “I don’t remember — was that the same night my blood started boiling during our work on the character commentary?”
      You know, I’m not sure… My, but that would make for an extraordinary coincidence. o.0

    • Edgwyn laughs. “That would certainly be a development no one saw coming! Does my world even have werewolves, Danielle?”
      There have been reports of humans taking animal form by moonlight, but those may be entirely unrelated incidents.
      And alas, Kimberly, it is true: I am an aberrant of my generation and have yet to read “Harry Potter”. -_- Wasn’t into fantasy, back then, and now it’s just gotten so huge, I don’t know how to handle it.

Leave a Reply

