“A Morrow More” … or its Author Interviewing Herself

My series of interviews with the authors of the “One More Day” anthology are coming to an end. (Fortunately, this does not signal the end of the book’s availability! You can still get them through the following links.)

Amazon (Paperback) / Amazon (Kindle) / Barnes & Noble (epub) / Kobo (e-book)

OneMoreDay_Cover-blog

At the end of the post, I’ll announce the seven winners of my clock charm bookmark giveaway, ooh-ah! But first, a brief Q&A with the author of the anthology’s closing piece, “A Morrow More”. You’ve seen her around here plenty of times before; something about this being her blog. X) Take it away, Danielle E. Shipley, a.k.a. me!

How did you hear about the “One More Day” anthology contest, and what prompted you to submit?

Danielle: Somebody, somewhere, mentioned it in a blog. (I wish I could remember who and where!) The premise sounded workable – (Time stands still, eh?, I thought. That could go in any number of interesting directions…) – and I didn’t happen to be in the middle of any big, time-consuming projects on a looming deadline, so I started fiddling with ideas, and “A Morrow More” was born.

Is this your first published story? (If not, what was?)

Danielle: I believe my first publication happy dance accompanied the inclusion of my “The Swan Prince” companion flash piece “Still Broken” in online women’s speculative fiction magazine Luna Station Quarterly. It didn’t come with monetary compensation (though I believe LSQ has subsequently begun a fund for its contributors), but that first taste of authorial legitimacy is priceless all by itself. If we’re talking non-self-published works with royalties, though, then yep, this is my first. (:

A Morrow More graphic, Erika Beebe

Custom “A Morrow More” graphic created by fellow “One More Day” author Erika Beebe!

Which of the characters in your story was your favorite? Who was the easiest to write? What about the hardest?

Danielle: For favorite, probably Lorrel, part-Inkborn son of the king. I enjoyed working with the narrator, Raeve, but, well, she’s not a rather attractive prince, is she? She also might qualify as the hardest to write, if only because she had to do most of the story’s talking. As for the easiest to write, that honor may go to the great Morrow More for whom the tale is titled.

If you’d been in the place of your story’s main character, how do you suppose you would have handled their situation?

Danielle: Not nearly as bravely, I don’t think. I mean, I might have ended up performing more or less the same actions as Raeve, but I’d have been a wreck at least for the first while, as my overactive imagination dreamed up reasons for time’s freeze, each explanation more terrifying than the last. I expect the encounter on the mountaintop would have gone differently, since I understand the Morrow More’s way of thinking better than Raeve did. As for the ending… yeah, I don’t know how Raeve stays so even-keeled. I predict further wreckhood on my part.

Besides your own, which of the anthology stories is your personal favorite, and why?

Danielle: Although it’s a tight race between my ultimate pick and L.S. Murphy’s “The Thirteenth Month”, I’ve got to go with Kimberly Kay’s “Sleepless Beauty”. I don’t know if you could tell by my Wilderhark Tales, but I’m a total sucker for a sweet and humorous fairy tale.

If you could read only One More Book before some tragic turn of events prevented your ability to ever read another word, which book would you choose, and why?

Danielle: Um, first of all, this is a special level of cruel. Like, for real. I’ve clearly got a black and twisted mind to have even concocted such a question. Second of all, I would probably end up choosing my second favorite Robin Hood retelling of all time, Robin McKinley’s “The Outlaws of Sherwood”. (Why not read my first favorite? Because I wrote it, and so am a mite closer to knowing the tale word for word.)

If you could listen to only one piece of music for a year (though at least you’re allowed to replay it as many times as you like), which song would you pick?

Danielle: Let’s go with the original Broadway cast recording of “Dancing Through Life” from “Wicked”. It makes me happy, and gosh knows I’ll need that, since I won’t have access to any of my other favorite songs for a year.

You’ve got One More Chance to say anything you like to the good folks reading this interview before its end. What’ll it be?

Danielle: I hope you’ve enjoyed getting to read a little more about the assemblage of authors behind the “One More Day” anthology. If you haven’t read the book itself yet, I’ll be candid: I would like you to. And with such a variety of voices inside, the chances of your enjoying it are high. (:

Now then, onto the winners of bookmarks! A round of congratulatory applause to the following:

Aisazia

Steven Bourelle

Susan Francino

Mere Joyce

Kim Matura

Jamie Ayres

Eric Wilder

Way to go, you guys! I’ll be in touch if I need your shipping information. Thank you for taking part in the “One More Day” blog tour; your lovely prizes will be heading your way soon!

7 thoughts on ““A Morrow More” … or its Author Interviewing Herself

  1. First off, YAY!!!! Thank you, =D

    Second off, this has been a great blog tour, and it was a great collection. And so I have to give a special thanks to you, Danielle, because if you hadn’t been in the collection, I probably would have never read it, =/

Leave a Reply

