In Which I Gush Over the Continuation of a Beautiful Fanship

Ah, Rachel Aaron, I love how we keep meeting like this. First I win my cherished copy of your Legend of Eli Monpress” omnibus (*pauses a moment to sigh swoonily over Eli*), and then lately I’ve won the first novel released under your other authorial alias! You are my giveaway hero (for realzies. My own personal giveaways have been inspired by yours), and a writer whose stories have yet to do wrong by me. I feel most fortunate to be your fan. I salute you. And I review you[r book].

œFortune's Pawn

The Book: “Fortune’s Pawn (Paradox #1)” by Rachel Bach.

Genre: Science Fiction.

Blurb: Devi Morris isn’t your average mercenary. She has plans. Big ones. And a ton of ambition. It’s a combination that’s going to get her killed one day – but not just yet.
That is, until she just gets a job on a tiny trade ship with a nasty reputation for surprises. The Glorious Fool isn’t misnamed: it likes to get into trouble, so much so that one year of security work under its captain is equal to five years everywhere else. With odds like that, Devi knows she’s found the perfect way to get the jump on the next part of her Plan. But the Fool doesn’t give up its secrets without a fight, and one year on this ship might be more than even Devi can handle.

My Thoughts: Aaron, Bach, it doesn’t matter what surname this author goes by, I just really enjoy her writing. I can’t usually get into sci-fi, but this book felt accessible to my tech-shy brain in a way much of the genre has not, and kept me engaged from start to finish. Bedtime, phooey – I wanted the next the chapter! …and kinda wanted to run off and write my own space adventure. (Time will tell what comes of that.)

The action excited (so many aliens to shoot in the crazy-cool armor suit!), the mystery intrigued (just what game are Captain Caldswell and his conspirators playing, anyway?), and the romance tantalized (Rupert is one of those inside/outside hotties I’ve got a soft spot for. Good pick, Devi; this reader approves). I’m so sad the book is over already, and so glad the sequel is scheduled to come out in February. 😀

HSYRT? (Hey, Should You Read This?): If I liked it this much, I can’t think of any good reason why you shouldn’t. Give it a go. And while you’re in a book-shopping mood, I recommend you pick up a copy of, say, “One More Day”, as well. One good read deserves another, aye? ^-^

2 thoughts on “In Which I Gush Over the Continuation of a Beautiful Fanship

  1. Is your brain tech-shy as well? How am I not surprised that we have this in common? 🙂 And of course, if you have that tendency too and liked this, that is all the more reason for me to check it out!

    • Lol, yes it is; even has a mild allergy to most things with a spacey aesthetic, which was why my enjoyment of this book came as such an ultra-pleasant surprise. I have hopes my brethren in tech-shyness will have fun with the Paradox trilogy as well. ^.^

Leave a Reply

