In Which We Observe That Rosalba Inherited Her Author’s Control-Freak Gene (Launch Week, Day 6)

It’s Launch Week for “The Seventh Spell”! Amazon (paperback) / Amazon (Kindle) / Barnes & Noble (Nook) / CreateSpace (paperback) And as part of the celebration, I’ve invited the novella’s four main characters to visit the Ever On Word blog and share their response to the following prompt:

From almost start to finish in the adventure of “The Seventh Spell”, the odds were pretty stacked against you. It might be said that the biggest (and perhaps only) weapon you had with which to fight for your happy ending was hope. At which point did you feel most hopeful? Most hopeless? How optimistic a person are you in general, and how did that measure up against the nigh impossible challenge set before you?

Please welcome guest number three, everyone’s favorite Denebdeorian Crown Princess, Rosalba!

<<<>>>

Rosalba as realized by my incredible Wilderhark artist, Yana Naumova.

Rosalba as realized by my incredible Wilderhark artist, Yana Naumova.

When did I feel the most hopeful?… Well, I certainly didn’t set out with much hope. It wasn’t a matter of hoping, then, but of desperation. I stood face to face with two alternatives: Lose everyone I loved, or save them. The first moments of absorbing that knowledge were the most hopeless I’ve ever lived. But I wasn’t about to give them all up without a fight, so fight I did, with or without feeling I had any realistic chance of success. The first glimmer of hope didn’t come until later, after I realized I’d found the first piece of the several we needed to bring together in order to set things to rights, showing me that perhaps success wasn’t quite as unrealistic as I’d feared.

Am I generally optimistic? Under certain circumstances, I suppose I am. I expect that matters within my control will go well. Even operating under my first magical curse, the power to break the spell was mainly in my own hands. That’s what made the Seventh Spell so utterly horrific: There was only so much I, or anyone, could do to affect the outcome. Far, far too much hinged on pure, unreliable luck. Yet, what little I could do – what Father, and Edgwyn, and even Mother could do… That small bit of power gave me a small bit of hope, for all together, I half-believe we are stronger than luck.

<<<>>>

Seventh Spell Cover, front

A witch’s attempt to cast one spell too many

casts everyone touched by her previous spells into chaos.

Scattered throughout each other’s pasts, Sula and Edgwyn, Villem and Rosalba,

and the rest of the magic’s affected have a single chance to break this last enchantment

before their “happily-ever-after”-s cease to have ever been.

The Seventh Spell

Book Three of The Wilderhark Tales

<> ~ <> ~ <>

According to readers (*thank you for reviewing!*):

“Such an incredible book.”

“The best Wilderhark Tale to date.”

“I knew this was going to be epic in some form or another and it didn’t disappoint.”

<<<>>>

Once again, the book can be purchased via the following links: Amazon (paperback) / Amazon (Kindle) / Barnes & Noble (Nook) / CreateSpace (paperback)

Don’t forget, we’ve got a giveaway going on! And the 5th and 6th winners are…

R.G. Dole and Chelsea de la Cruz!

Congratulations on your prizes, and good luck to all the entrants in the running for Grand Prize Day – a.k.a., tomorrow!

How to Enter

Every mention/link to the giveaway on Facebook, Twitter, or blog = +1 (You can do this multiple times daily. Feel free to go nuts!)

An addition of “The Seventh Spell” to your Goodreads “To Read” shelf = +1 (If you’ve already read and rated/reviewed on Goodreads, you’re covered. ^-^)

Every comment on a “Seventh Spell” Launch Week post = +3 (Launch Week means new posts almost every day, so you can really rack up the points here!)

Every purchase of an e-book copy of “The Seventh Spell” = +3

Every purchase of a paperback copy of “The Seventh Spell” = +7

Your chances to win will accumulate over the seven days of the giveaway (didn’t win the first prize? You’ve still got your rollover entries for the prizes to come, and you can continue earning more), so the sooner you jump on board, the better your odds of winning!

The Prizes

#1 = Autographed print of a portrait of Millyanna (drawn by me). Congrats, Michelle!

#2 = Autographed print of a portrait of Viralei (drawn by me). Congrats, Miranda!

#3 = Autographed print of a surprise “Seventh Spell” scene illustration (drawn by me). Congrats, Emerald!

#4 = Autographed print of another surprise “Seventh Spell” scene illustration (drawn by me). Congrats, Kim!

#5 = Seven selected chapters of the “The Seventh Spell”, with author commentary! Congrats, R.G.!

#6 = Seven selected chapters of the “The Seventh Spell”, with CHARACTER commentary! Congrats, Chelsea!

#7 = The Epic Win of the giveaway. 3 winners get to select any one of the first six prizes they like, and 1 of the three will receive my very first paperback proof copy of “The Seventh Spell”, autographed.

I’ll see you guys tomorrow for the final day of the “Seventh Spell” Launch Week!

4 thoughts on “In Which We Observe That Rosalba Inherited Her Author’s Control-Freak Gene (Launch Week, Day 6)

Leave a Reply

