In Which Edgwyn’s Fans Are Reminded Why They Love That Guy (Launch Week, Day 7)

It’s the last day of Launch Week for “The Seventh Spell”! Amazon (paperback) / Amazon (Kindle) / Barnes & Noble (Nook) / CreateSpace (paperback) And as part of the celebration, I’ve invited the novella’s four main characters to visit the Ever On Word blog and share their response to the following prompt:

From almost start to finish in the adventure of “The Seventh Spell”, the odds were pretty stacked against you. It might be said that the biggest (and perhaps only) weapon you had with which to fight for your happy ending was hope. At which point did you feel most hopeful? Most hopeless? How optimistic a person are you in general, and how did that measure up against the nigh impossible challenge set before you?

Please welcome our final guest (last, but never least, no matter how much he’ll try to put himself there), Edgwyn Wyle!

<<<>>>

Edgwyn as realized by my dream-Wilderhark artist, Yana Naumova.

Edgwyn as realized by my dream-Wilderhark artist, Yana Naumova.

I was fortunate in that I spent a good deal of book having no idea just how hopeless the situation was. Things were strange, yes, I knew that much. And stressful. Sometimes downright frightening. But I was sure there had to be an explanation for it, and some way or another to set it all right, if I could just make my way back to where I was supposed to be. (…and when I was supposed to be, for that matter!) If I’d known from the start exactly what was going on… oh, dear, it’s really just as well that I didn’t.

I am a pretty optimistic person, by nature. All else being equal, things are just as likely to go right as they are to go wrong, so why not suppose they’ll go right? And even things that seem to go drastically wrong at first have a way of coming out for the best in the end. So despite the strangeness, stress, and occasional frights, I mostly assumed it was simply a matter of time before it all worked out. Mostly.

It can be very hard to remain hopeful when you’re physically exhausted, emotionally drained, and your travel companion is, shall we say, not Rosalba. I will admit there were brief moments (which would have been better used for sleep) when I deeply doubted whether we could ever pull off what we had to in order to return everything to normal. Those were some of the most terrifying moments of my life. But I couldn’t afford to dwell on them. As you said, hope was our greatest asset. Hope and love. The one spurred me on to the other: My loved ones needed me to hope. To never give up while there was still time to succeed. So that’s what I did – what we all did, as best we could. And in the end… well, I oughtn’t to give that away. I guess the eventual readers will simply have to do as we did: Hope for the best possible ending.

<<<>>>

Seventh Spell Cover, front

A witch’s attempt to cast one spell too many

casts everyone touched by her previous spells into chaos.

Scattered throughout each other’s pasts, Sula and Edgwyn, Villem and Rosalba,

and the rest of the magic’s affected have a single chance to break this last enchantment

before their “happily-ever-after”-s cease to have ever been.

The Seventh Spell

Book Three of The Wilderhark Tales

<> ~ <> ~ <>

According to readers (*thank you for reviewing!*):

“Such an incredible book.”

“The best Wilderhark Tale to date.”

“I knew this was going to be epic in some form or another and it didn’t disappoint.”

<<<>>>

Once again, the book can be purchased via the following links: Amazon (paperback) / Amazon (Kindle) / Barnes & Noble (Nook) / CreateSpace (paperback)

And now for the final three winners in the “Seventh Spell” Launch Week Giveaway, each of whom can choose any of the first six prizes they wish…

Mara Jacob!

Miranda McNeff!

And the Grand Prize winner who will additionally receive my very first proof paperback of “The Seventh Spell”…

Michelle Proulx!

Hearty congratulations to you all (let me know what you want from the prize list!), and thanks to everyone who took part in Launch Week of “The Seventh Spell (Book Three of The Wilderhark Tales)”!

The Prizes

#1 = Autographed print of a portrait of Millyanna (drawn by me). Congrats, Michelle!

#2 = Autographed print of a portrait of Viralei (drawn by me). Congrats, Miranda!

#3 = Autographed print of a surprise “Seventh Spell” scene illustration (drawn by me). Congrats, Emerald!

#4 = Autographed print of another surprise “Seventh Spell” scene illustration (drawn by me). Congrats, Kim!

#5 = Seven selected chapters of the “The Seventh Spell”, with author commentary! Congrats, R.G.!

#6 = Seven selected chapters of the “The Seventh Spell”, with CHARACTER commentary! Congrats, Chelsea!

#7 = The Epic Win of the giveaway. 3 winners get to select any one of the first six prizes they like, and 1 of the three will receive my very first paperback proof copy of “The Seventh Spell”, autographed. Congrats Mara, Miranda, and Michelle! (ALL the “M”s!)

Ever On Word’s semi-regularly scheduled blogging may now resume. *toasting my triumph with a bottle of apple juice*

4 thoughts on “In Which Edgwyn’s Fans Are Reminded Why They Love That Guy (Launch Week, Day 7)

Leave a Reply

