Interview-a-Palooza!

We’re into Week 3 of the “Inspired” blog tour! Coming up, you’ll get a brief overview of what’s gone down since… well, the last time I gave you an overview. ;D

BUT FIRST! An interview with my writing bestie who can as of late March call herself a published author.

Part One: Tirzah Duncan and Cry of the Nightbird

Nightbird cover, final

Me: Hello, Tirzah! Thanks for letting me drag you over here to show you off. Tell us: Whence came the idea for your newly-published novella, Cry of the Nightbird?

Tirzah: I don’t know if you remember this, but it started last year, when you were at a loss for what to write for a Camp NaNo novel. And I was trying to brainstorm with you, tossing out this idea and that.

Then I said, “Okay, how about a young female main character who’s got this major crush on a villain? And what if that villain…”

I went on to speak spoilers, so you don’t get to hear that bit. But suffice it to say the idea really captivated me. To my frustration, Danielle, you were not interested. Hang it, I thought, I want to read the story! If she won’t write it, then I guess I’ve got to.

Me: Haha, I do halfway remember that! Obviously, it was a cool idea, T. Just as obvious to me, the idea was meant for you, so good on ya for running with it! You’ve been writing for some years, now. What was it that pushed you to finally take the plunge and self-publish a story?

Tirzah: There’s a bit of a dual answer to that. One, a sudden fit of impatience. But I’m not sure whether that alone would have driven me through all the boring things like spending eight mind-numbing hours trying to get indents to show up properly in an e-format.

Tirzah Duncan. Writer. Adventurer. Mary Sue? -_0

Tirzah Duncan. Writer. Adventurer. Mary Sue? -_0

What pushed me through that sort of nonsense? Desperation. My fiancé was offered a job in Germany. “Shall I accept the adventure of a lifetime in Europe, or be convenient and stay stateside?” he essentially asked, and left the decision in my hands. Taking the job complicated wedding plans, by which I mean, would require a few thousand more dollars in plane tickets and moving expenses, getting him back and the two of us forth.

“ADVENTURE OR BUST! TAKE THE JOB!” I cried, and determined to see that we do not come up bust, I aim to earn the extra in e-book sales. Audacious, I know, but I will sell this baby door-to-door if that’s what I must do.

Me: Your life is such a novel, you know that? I mean, mine kind of is, too, now that “Inspired”s a thing, but yours is a novel with a European romance, doggone it! Moving on, before I die of envy… Character-centric gal that I am, I’ve gotta ask: Who’s your favorite character from the novella, and why?

Tirzah: Tough one… I tried to make most of them their own brand of excellent. But like the sharp young servant girl, Wren, I’m a sucker for confident, cut, and sorta-kinda kind criminal overlords. So I’ll have to go with Joreth.

(…To clarify, when I say “cut,” I refer to defined musculature, not “the results of coming out of a knife fight somewhat scathed,” of which that master of assassins has both.)

Me: Yum. *cough* Yup. I meant “yup”. *pulls gaze away from attractive killers* Anyhow. This isn’t the only tale you’ve written set in this world. What can you tell us about the other project, Ever the Actor, and when do you suppose it’ll join Nightbird on the market?

Tirzah: Well, remember what I said I’m a sucker for? Joreth isn’t the first of those I’ve written. Although I use the term “sorta-kinda kind” far more loosely for Syawn, my sociopath thief lord determined to keep up caring appearances.

Me: SYYY! *more coughing* Sorry, I must be coming down with something. Pray continue.

Tirzah: You can read the book’s blurb and some select excerpts here—and the elsewhere-unreleased prologue is included at the end of Cry of the Nightbird, wink wink, nudge nudge.

When will it come out? Let’s keep it to the ever-mysterious “Coming sooooon…”

Me: Until this portentous “soon” comes to pass, any last words, Ms. Duncan?

Tirzah: Hmm. How about, “Hey, check what I can do!” or “Nooo, I’m too young…” or perhaps “At least I published something before the end,” or “Lord Jesus, receive my spirit!”

Bit of an odd question to end an interview on, though. Leads one to wonder if you put a hit out on me.

Me: Who, me? Never…

That’s “Cry of the Nightbird”, folks – available now!

Part Two: Meanwhile, on the “Inspired” blog tour…

Friday on the Ink Caster blog, my/Annabelle’s light elemental Luc went in for an illuminating chat with Tirzah Duncan’s thief lord Syawn.

Monday, the interview was mine, all mine! …and my hostess Aimee Laine’s, of course. X)

And Wednesday, all sensible Q&A practices went out the window, because this time the operation was run by Alexander Nader (who you may remember from when we got treated to Will Scarlet’s idea of an interview during Alex’s “Beasts of Burdin ” tour).

Plenty more tour stops still to come (full schedule available on my website’s homepage), and the fantastic book behind it all is still gloriously available for purchase. So if you feel thus inspired, make sure to get your copies!

P.S. – Don’t forget to enter my giveaway for a chance to win awesome free “Inspired” goodies!

2 thoughts on “Interview-a-Palooza!

Leave a Reply

