Blog Tour’s End, Next Chapter’s Beginning

Got a double order of business, for ya! About a month back, Michelle Proulx tagged me in a blog hop, so I’m pleased to be finally getting around to participating in that. And afterward, we’ve got the final stops on the “Inspired” blog tour to summarize. Let’s get hoppin’!

Part One: The Writing Process Blog Hop

1) What are you working on?

It’s April – a.k.a, Camp NaNoWrimo, a.k.a. one of those glorious months where I tell the affairs of “real life” to take a number while I put writing first. This time around, I’m working on a follow-up to “Inspired”. Same amazing characters, startling new situation. Beyond that… *zips lips*

2) How does your work differ from others in the genre?

Since “Inspired” apparently qualifies as literary fiction, I expect that means its sequel will, too. A quick online search for a genre definition still leaves me a bit confused as to what literary fiction even is, but I’m getting the sense that it has to do with language style, a character-driven story, perhaps pays little heed to convention, and, I dunno, makes some sort of philosophical commentary on the human condition? Mmm…okay. I don’t generally tend to think of my work as all that serious, but if we can have all that and throw in some lighthearted laughs, then sure, what the hey, call my novel baby literary!

3) Why do you write what you write?

Because they’re the stories in me that demand to be told. Because it feels right when my head is in those worlds. Because it’s fun, and it’s fulfilling, and I want to be a friend to the characters therein. And if I don’t get these things down on paper, who will?

4) How does your writing process work?

Once I’ve got an idea I want to pursue, I get started on mapping out the story’s arc. I get down what I know, and brainstorm answers to all the questions that crop up along the way. I track what the characters are up to at any given time, and probe their motivations and emotional states. There’s a lot of wondering, “Now what?” as I strive to hook everything up to, y’know, an actual plot. Eventually I’ll have a beginning, an end, and a semi-solid grip on what goes on in between. Nothing to do after that but write out the book, one eye on the plan, the other on the surprises that characters are always pulling out of the blue. In a NaNo month like this, it shouldn’t take more than three-and-a-half weeks before I’ve got a lovely unedited draft on my hands.

Now I’ve got four other author friends to tag. If they’re up for hopping in, I nominate the following:

Tirzah Duncan, author of Cry of the Nightbird;

Emerald Barnes, author of Entertaining Angels;

Kimberly Kay, author of Sleepless Beauty (One More Day);

and Alexander Nader, author of Beasts of Burdin.

Part Two: Meanwhile, on the “Inspired” blog tour…

On Friday, my interview with Laney McMann addressed the important questions, like: Which of my “Inspired” characters would I first reach to save if they all fell off a cliff?

Monday on the blog of fellow One More Day anthology author Erika Beebe, I compiled a list of ten fictional characters in my life who have inspired me.

And my last-but-not-least stop takes place today on the blog of Emi Gayle, where I’ve been author-interviewed!

To catch up on any tour stops you missed, you can check out the full schedule on my website’s homepage. And of course, though the tour may be over, the fantastic book behind it all is still gloriously available for purchase. So if you feel thus inspired, make sure to get your copies!

 

P.S. – Last chance to enter my giveaway for a shot at nabbing the awesome free “Inspired” goodies up for grabs! I’ll be back later with an edit announcing the seven lucky winners. Stay tuned!

Edit: And the giveaway winners are…

Abishan bookmark = Kendra Conine!

Wilbur bookmark = Desnica Kumar!

Uri bookmark = Emerald Barnes!

Yves bookmark = Laurie Goudge!

Annabelle bookmark = Chelsea de la Cruz!

Luc bookmark = Tirzah Duncan!

“Inspired” paperback, signed = Mara Jacobi!

Congratulations, one and all, and thanks to everyone who in any way joined in the celebration of the release of “INSPIRED”!

4 thoughts on “Blog Tour’s End, Next Chapter’s Beginning

  1. Haha, even after all my schooling and working in a library, I still have issues with “literary fiction”. Love your reason for writing…I think when the story demands to be told, it’s one of the absolute best ways to get started.

  2. I’ve always been confused about how “literary fiction” is different than any other fiction. Isn’t all fiction literary fiction? Ah, I guess it doesn’t matter (:

    I totally sympathize with the writing process, sitting there and trying to decide, “What most logically and interestingly will come next?” The birth of writer’s block, haha.

    (I won something, *gasp*! :D)

    • Right? I mean, I guess fiction’s subdivision into categories and genres has been done for a reason, but goodness, trying to keep it all straight makes my eyes cross.

      Yeeee-up. That’s why I like to get most of the heavy lifting of plotting done before I even start on the book. It’s tricky enough to proceed even with a road map; without one, I could be lost in one paragraph for days!

      (Yes, you did! Yaaaaay!)

Leave a Reply

