HOHENSTEIN Blog Tour – Q&A with Didi Lawson

Ever On Word hereby presents my stop on the blog tour for Xchyler Publishing’s new historical romance, HOHENSTEIN by Didi Lawson!

Hohenstein_Cover_Spread

How super pretty is that cover?! *ogles work of art* But of course the importance of a book’s outside has nothing on its insides. Let’s not overlook what the novel’s about:

Hohenstein_Blurb

As a special treat for you, readers o’ mine – (and, y’know, since I advertised it in this post’s title, and all) – here’s a quick Q&A with author Didi Lawson.

Please provide some insight, a secret or two about your book / story.

I almost tossed the manuscript out when I moved from Tucson to Chandler, AZ, but decided what the heck, I’ll just pack it up and take it with me. One night I woke up with the distinct feeling to work on this Hohenstein manuscript. And I did.

If you had 3 wishes, what would they be?

1. Have enough money to travel anywhere in the world, 2. Have all of my family around me, 3. Live in my dreams.

Given unlimited resources, what would be your ideal writing environment?

A chalet in the woods on a balcony overlooking the tree tops.

Where do you actually write?

In my kitchen. I have my desk in front of a window that looks out over the pasture (no animals, though).

How long does it normally take you to write a novel?

That depends. I could have a novel done in 6 months, rough draft that is.

What inspires you to write?

Good question. It’s like a power that pushes me to write.

When did you know you wanted to be a writer?

I have been writing ever since I learned how to write, and I always wanted to get published, but most of the time didn’t take myself serious.

What was the hardest part of writing your book, and how did you overcome it?

The hardest part of writing for me is when I have writer’s block, when I don’t know exactly how to go on, to go from point A to point B. The best way to overcome that is to just sit down and write. You may have to delete everything you wrote, but at least you put words on paper and oftentimes, the ideas come.

What is your writing drive? The power that keeps you going when your writing gets difficult?

My sense of duty or sense of responsibility.

How did you come up with the title?

I once worked for a man who had bought the title von Hohenstein. And I named the castle Hohenstein for lack of a better title. I thought that I’d come up with something better eventually, but I didn’t. And I like the title.

Hohenstein_Author

Hohenstein_Available

You can snatch up your copy of HOHENSTEIN today, and/or enter the tour-wide giveaway for a chance to take your pick of some Xchyler Pub goodies.

Lastly, I leave you with the novel’s trailer – which, between the visuals and the music, is just an all-around lovely experience.

Leave a Reply

