Muse Party Blogfest: (Anti-) Valentine’s Day Edition

Muse Party Blogfest, Valentines

From our host, Sarah Foster of The Faux Fountain Pen:

Blow up the balloons and grab your party hats, it’s time for another muse party! … It just so happens that my musiversary (that’s muse anniversary for those of you playing at home) with Jordan falls on the day after Valentine’s Day. So he’s kind of always been my anti-Valentine. This year marks our fifth musiversary… so it’s kind of an anti-Valentine’s Day party. But also a Valentine’s Day party. Basically it’s whatever you want it to be. We’re celebrating the most nauseating of holidays along with the most dysfunctional relationships we probably have – the ones with our muses.

Let the muse party shenanigans commence!

  1. Who did you bring to the party? Is he/she your Valentine or anti-Valentine?

Will Scarlet [grinning, arm thrown around me ]: “Who else? I brought my much-beloved author babe, Danielle E. Shipley! Of course we’re Valentines. Platonic Valentines. Brother/sister Valentines. I’d-totally-kiss-you-but-it’d-be-weird Valentines. I-might-kiss-you-anyway Valentines.”

Me: “Be-quiet-now Valentines.”

  1. Which one of you is the more romantic person?

Will: “Hmm. That’s kind of a tough one, ‘cause I’m frequently too oblivious for romance, and she’s too much of a stick in the mud to even half the time know what it looks like. But we’re both deep-down believers in the notion of True Love.”

Me: “Naturally we are, for our mutual love is most true. …strange, but true.”

Will [with an affectionate squeeze ]: “Hellz yes, it is.”

It's True Love

  1. What gift are you giving to your (anti) Valentine?

Will: “Now, see, I could give a normal author girl chocolates and flowers and jewelry and whatnot, but Danielle wouldn’t appreciate any of that. I’d be better off giving her a trip to the bookstore, or a walk in the woods. Or a trip to a bookstore in the woods!”

Me: “Not feasible, most unfortunately.”

Will: “Yeah. So, I dunno.” [turns to me ] “What do you want?”

Me: “Meh, I don’t need anything.”

Will: “’Kay, cool. …I still get something, though, right?”

Me: “How’s an imaginary basketful of chocolate truffles, scarlet blossoms, and assorted bling sound to you?”

Will: “YOU HAD ME AT CHOCOLATE TRUFFLES.”

  1. Are you guys wearing red or pink (or black…)?

Will: “Red year-‘round, baby! And, I mean, occasionally other colors, if I’m feeling wild, but totally red today!”

Me: “I’m probably wearing gray. I own a lot of gray.”

Will: “You are a disappointment.”

  1. Did you bring any Valentine’s Day treats?

Will [produces a couple of sprinkle shakers ]: “Wha-bam: Edible glitter! Got it for you in red and gold. Bedazzle your party snacks to taste, folks. ^_^ ”

  1. Name a song for our Love Playlist or Anti-Love Playlist (or both)!

Will: “You thinking what I’m thinking?”

Me: “Let’s give ‘em our song.”

Both: “Love is an Open Doo-oo-oor…!”

Love is an Open Door 1

Love is an Open Door 2

Love is an Open Door 3

Love is an Open Door 4

  1. Got a great anti/Valentine party game?

Will: “Everybody kiss everybody else!”

Me: “That’s not a game. That’s a mouth orgy.”

Will: “I’m not seeing a distinction.”

  1. Feeling the love or just feeling nauseous? How will you have fun at the party?

Will: “I was gonna have fun by kissing everybody, but soooooome author was like noooooo, so I dunno, maybe I’ll smother my sorrows by snorting edible glitter like crack.”

Me: “Stop moping. There are a million ways for you to have fun, each one more off-the-wall than the last. Go and mingle with the people. I’ll stay and mingle alone.”

Will: “That… is not how mingling works.”

Me: “It is for introverts. ^o^”

  1. Has your muse been a good Valentine?

Me: “He’s behaved about as well as he usually does, bless his idiot heart. And it was sweet of him to drag me over here. Nobody works to keep me in the party spirit like my Will. ❤ ”

*Jordan’s Bonus Question (feel free to ignore him…): Did you bring me & Sarah a musiversary gift? (Because we’ve put up with each other for five years and I think we deserve something.)

Will [eyes sparkling ]: “You bet I did.” [presents gift ] “Found the perfect little something on Etsty: An inkwell (or pen stand) made out of a light bulb.”

Me: “Author and pen, muse and light bulb. Will, your genius is showing.”

Will [winks at me, then blows a kiss at Jordan and Sarah ]: “Happy musiversary, you two. And many more.”

33 thoughts on “Muse Party Blogfest: (Anti-) Valentine’s Day Edition

  1. “I’m totally willing to play the ‘everybody kiss everybody else’ game,” Jordan says. “As long as we kick out the girls first. Ok, just Sarah. That’s not happening. Blech.”
    Hey, I have no desire to kiss him, either. You guys can do whatever you want.
    “Whatever I want?” He wiggles his eyebrows. “I was told that seven minutes in heaven was off the table…”
    Just try not to make the other guests too uncomfortable…
    (Thanks for coming to my party!!)

    • Will’s ears perk up. “What’s that about seven minutes on the table in heaven?!”
      That’s not quite what got said…
      “TALKING LATER, KISSING NOW, KTHNX.”
      (Totes welcome, Sarah. …slash totes sorry, Sarah…)

  2. LOL, PS I wanted tell you I love your muses name. I am huge Robin Hood and King Arthur, Merlin and Avanlon legend fan. I signed up for your ARC copy, which I think may have been on another site, not sure. My favorite Robin Hood movies is the one with Kevin “Costner, but the newer one with Russell Crowe I also liked a lot, not quite what I expected.

    • “You do?! YOU DID?!” Will squeals. “That’s amazing, THANK YOU! Oh boy, oh boy, she’s gonna read my book! She’s gonna LOVE my book! BEST VALENTINE’S MUSE PARTY EVER!”
      Hey-hey! Hail, fellow Robin Hood fan! I’ll be sure to get the ARC to you, a.s.a.p.! ❤

  3. I also love your muse’s name. (I’m also a Robin Hood fan)

    This was really a lot of fun to read, and now I’m totally going to have “Love is an Open Door” stuck in my head the rest of the day.

    And a bookstore in the woods would be awesome.

  4. Nick: Will’s fun.
    Me: You’re not going to snort glitter with him, are you?
    Nick: *pretends to consider it* Nah I think I’ll pass. Ryan would never let me live it down.
    Me: Ryan? Dude. Vince would take pictures and stick them on the bathroom wall.
    Nick: Yeah… no. Anyone for vodka? Hey! Just realized if the bottle’s empty–
    Me: NO!

  5. Jari: Who is this ‘Will Scarlet’? I like him. Bring him to me.
    Me: *lightbulb moment* Hey Danielle! I brought someone to meet Will! He can create fire and hunt elk and stuff. Have fun you guys! Byyyee!
    *runs out of room and leaves Jari with Will*

  6. Huntress: These are the pair who enjoyed our post?

    Me: Yes, Dani especially enjoyed my red carpet comment. I love their comradeship here. A great addition to the party!

    Huntress: They make a nice pair. It’s great I’m not assigned to capture them.

    Me: Um, yes, that’s good.

    Huntress: You know when my book comes out everyone will be afraid of you.

    Me: Keep going and you’re going to be part of the mouth orgy.

    Huntress: Knock Knock, is that Marigold you are speaking to? Must be.

    Me: Burn! What would you do if she were here?

    Huntress: Like I’m afraid of some part time carving seductress.

    Me: She has done some hunting too.

    Huntress: Some. Not like she can get the jump on me.

    Marigold: Boo.

  7. Somehow Sy has navigated this whole party without getting any glitter of any form upon himself. I call magely shenanigans.

    He shakes his head. “I just haven’t hugged Will yet.” He grimmaces. “He’ll mope for days if I don’t, so here goes.”

  8. Someone needs to make a bookshop in the woods, with a large patio shaded by trees… and off to the side is an attached coffee house that also sells a variety of tea and little cakes. Do this, someone!

Leave a Reply

