“Weird” or “Y’know, It Could Be That Some Fiction *Is* Stranger Than Truth…”

I’ve got friends in high-ish places who handed me a book and asked for my thoughts. And since my head happened to have a few thoughts to spare, today, I figured I’d be a pal and comply.

The Book: “Leap Day” by Mozart (via Twin Wicks Publishing).

Genre: A short story collection with a bent toward the paranormal.

Blurb (…well, more like a general description): Each episode is largely unrelated (though two of the tales, including that which shares the anthology’s title, do specifically refer to February 29th – or “the missing day”, as one story reverently calls it). However, a common thread throughout the book is the unexplained. Many of the plotlines start out as seemingly ordinary, only to unfurl into the implausible, often with more questions raised than fully answered. The result is a surreal climate in which reader imagination has ample room to speculate as to the cause and full effect of the mysteries presented.

My Thoughts: As a whole, I found the book to be an interesting journey, reminiscent of a guided tour of a haunted house. I would have preferred that the book include a table of contents. And regrettably, I was frequently distracted by missing commas and other such typographical errors, suggestive of inadequate line editing. I have seen worse in this area, but I should be seeing better. Even so, there was one story which so engaged me that all thoughts of literary mechanics briefly vanished, and that was “The Bridge”. Vying for my second and third favorites are “DOC-V” and “Andrea”, I believe because I felt that these three stories had the most to offer in terms of deep character interaction (whereas other tales dealt more with isolated introspection).

HSYRT? (Hey, Should You Read This?): If you like your fiction head-tilting weird (in both the “of a strikingly odd or unusual character; strange” and “of, relating to, or suggestive of the preternatural or supernatural” senses), you may want to give this book a read. The e-book is available on Smashwords and the Amazon Kindle store.

Leave a Reply

