“Princely” or “And the Patiently Waiting Nominees Are…”

Previously on Ever On Word, my blog and I received the Liebster Award, for which the rules of acceptance are as follows:

* Answer the 11 questions provided.
* Create 11 questions for the next nominees to answer.
* Link back to the one who nominated you.
* Choose 11 people and link them in your post.
* Go to their page and tell them.
* No tag backs!

I’ve taken care of items one and three; now to finish the job by announcing my 11 nominees and questioning them like the good cop/bad cop interrogator I am.

Because I like to work with themes, I’ve chosen to relate each of my 11 questions to my novella, “The Swan Prince (Book One of the Wilderhark Tales)”, (coming in 3 weeks, whoo-hoo!). It was a challenge (there are only so many general questions you can ask about swans!), but I think I managed to come up with a “like or befitting a prince; magnificent” mix. Take a look.

1. If you were cursed to take on an animal form every night, which do you think the spell-caster would choose for you, and why?

2. Which song reminiscent of moonlight on water do you enjoy more: Beethoven’s “Moonlight Sonata, or Debussy’s “Clair de Lune?

3. Name the fairytale nearest to the story of your life.

4. You feel sick. ): Would you rather see a doctor about it, or tough it out alone?

5. Who is your favorite “Swan(n)” – Emma Swan (“Once Upon a Time”), Bella Swan (“Twilight”), Elizabeth Swann (“Pirates of the Caribbean”), or [other]?

Must’ve been a real pain in heroine school, having all those other Swans in your class…
Must’ve been a real pain in heroine school, having all those other Swans in your class…

6. Who is your favorite prince? (Real, fictional, the “Purple Rain” artist who partied like it was 1999… whatever.)

7. Who is your favorite “the”? Just kidding. X) If you had to go on a two-week walking trip with someone – any someone – who would you want it to be, and why?

8. Are you the cool, rational type, or emotional and instinctual?

9. How far would you go to make a person fall in love with you?

10. Describe your early childhood home.

11. What does “happily ever after” mean to you?

As for my nominees, I feel like I’ve already tagged most of the bloggers I follow. So I figure, hey, how about I show some love to the bloggers who follow me? (Just in case you weren’t of the opinion that a subscription to my words is reward enough in itself…)

A warm round of applause to our dozen-minus-one arbitrarily selected nominees:

Shannon A. Thompson

Ionia Martin

ofglassandbooks

Carrie-Anne Brownian

The Parasite Guy*

Ellen J. Miller

Rick Mallery

Ursa Bowers

Kate Conway

Fel Wetzig

Bird

Congratulations, one and all! And to anyone who didn’t get nominated and is sitting there thinking, “Aw… but I wanted to answer those questions…”, I do have a comments section, guys. If you’ve got answers you’d like to put there, I would be glad as all get-out to read them. (:

* Speaking of The Parasite Guy, would you believe it? He’s nominated me for yet another award – the Sunshine Award! – the rules for which are:

Sunshine Award

  1. Post the sunshine award logo
  2. Accept the nomination and link back to the nominator
  3. Answer the questions
  4. Nominate ten other blogs(or sites) and inform them of the award

1, done. 2, done. 3… well, I’ve answered these particular questions once before, and my opinions on these matters have not much changed. So I’ve decided to delegate and let one of my characters answer in my stead. And what better character to interview during this princely post than the swan prince himself? Sigmund, come on down!

Favorite color: “I’ve not thought about it, much,” he says, clearing his throat awkwardly at having been summoned and thrust into the spotlight with so little notice. “I suppose I prefer dusky reds, like burgundy.”

Favorite animal: “The trumpeter swan.”

Favorite number: His narrow, sidelong glance at me has “This is a silly question” written all through it, but he answers, “How about… seven.”

Favorite non-alcoholic beverage: “Water.”

Favorite alcoholic beverage: “They don’t serve alcoholic beverages at the children’s asylum. The nuns promote temperance. Perhaps if I spent my evenings carousing in the village with the other youths, I would acquire a taste for it anyway; but I do not.”

Facebook or Twitter: “Wilderhark has neither.”

Passions: “I have yet to develop any. I have more important things to concern myself with. Never you mind what.”

Giving or receiving gifts: One shoulder lifts and lowers in an elegant shrug. “If the gift is worth receiving, I would prefer that. If not, you’re welcome to it. Enjoy.”

Favorite city: “Cersegg. Though I don’t expect most of your readers will know where that is.”

Ooh, hey, this question wasn’t on the list, last time I answered. I choose San Francisco! (…pending my someday visit to London.)

Favorite TV shows: “Wilderhark doesn’t have television, either.”

Well, we do. And I don’t watch it much, but when I do, it’s probably because “Once Upon a Time” is on.

Thank you for your indulgence, Sigmund! As for my ten nominees… well, gee, the list I’d compiled for the Liebster would have been perfect – eleven minus The Parasite Guy, since he nominated me – except P.G. nominated Shannon A. Thompson as another of his ten, and I don’t want to burn her with too heavy a dose of awarded sunshine. So I’ve got one additional nominee:

Gwen Stephens

Congrats, award winners! And mega-thanks to all my followers, for bringing your sunshine to Ever On Word. Y’all make me smile.

10 thoughts on ““Princely” or “And the Patiently Waiting Nominees Are…”

  1. I am now listening to Beethoven and Debussy. My morning is improved.
    1. If CURSED to take an animal form…coyote.
    2. Claire De Lune
    3. The King with Six Friends.
    4. Mild sick, stay home. More than six days of sick, go to the doctor.
    5. Elizabeth Swann from the Black Pearl. (those other movies exist, but I don’t consider them Pirates Movies.)
    6. Currently my favorite noble is an Earl. Hamish Alexander the Earl of White Haven from David Weber’s Honor Harrington series.
    7. I would go on a two week walking trip with a Singing Table. *nods* yep.
    8. Both. Cool in a crisis, emotional elsewhere.
    9. Um, not. Love is a two way street.
    10. Monster plants, bastard toad flax, oranges, and laughter.
    11. Happily ever after is the end of a spoken tale, and the beginning of an unspoken one.
    Thanks for the interesting questions.

    • You are most welcome, and thank *you* for the interesting answers. (Particularly the one involving bastard toad flax. One of my characters introduced me to that term, and it’s held a special place in my heart ever since. ^-^)

  2. 1, I’ve recently developed a thing for sloths, just so danged cute, lol, so let’s go with that.

    2. Both are pretty, but probably “Moonlight Sonata”

    3. Snow White perhaps, though my dwarves are of the four-legged furry variety

    4. Tough it out for at least a while.

    5. I suppose Emma from OUAT. None of them thrill me. I liked EB White’s The Trumpet of the Swan

    6. Robin would like to point out that in his experience princes have been nothing but trouble, lol.

    7. Jonas Armstrong just to bask in the pretty? lol. Or dear Robin of course.

    8. Fairly calm in a crisis, then an emotional mess afterwards

    9. I don’t think you can make someone fall in love. If so, find me Jonas now! Lol.

    10 suburban bliss

    11. I adore Kate’s answer to this one. I bow to the wisdom and cleverness.

    • Heh, I suppose Robin Hood has been given cause to view princes with suspicion. X) Sounds like something to discuss on that two-week walking trip…which I can totally come on, too, right? ‘Cause, y’know; Robin.

  3. Hi Danielle,
    here are my answers, and thanks a million again for nominating me!
    1. If you were cursed to take on an animal form every night, which do you think the spell-caster would choose for you, and why? A hare or rabbit because I’m small and don’t sleep well. Glad to say I’m not furry though.
    2. Which song reminiscent of moonlight on water do you enjoy more: Beethoven’s “Moonlight Sonata”, or Debussy’s “Clair de Lune”? Claire de Lune of course, because I can play it!
    3. Name the fairytale nearest to the story of your life. Pass, sorry.
    4. You feel sick. ): Would you rather see a doctor about it, or tough it out alone? Doctor, immediately.
    5. Who is your favorite “Swan(n)” – Emma Swan (“Once Upon a Time”), Bella Swan (“Twilight”), Elizabeth Swann (“Pirates of the Caribbean”), or [other]? Elizabeth.
    6. Who is your favorite prince? (Real, fictional, the “Purple Rain” artist who partied like it was 1999… whatever.) The singer – where is he these days???
    7. Who is your favorite “the”? Just kidding. X) If you had to go on a two-week walking trip with someone – any someone – who would you want it to be, and why? My husband, because he is the only person in the world I would not strangle after a similar type of holiday!
    8. Are you the cool, rational type, or emotional and instinctual? both when it suits me.
    9. How far would you go to make a person fall in love with you? a court injunction.
    10. Describe your early childhood home. large flat in a big city with an airport style of corridor running through it.
    11. What does “happily ever after” mean to you? settled with family and a job and some time for myself…to write.

Leave a comment